CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

HARRY L. CARRICO PROFESSIONALISM AWARD

VSB Section on Criminal Law

The Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was established in 1991 by the Section on Criminal Law of the Virginia State Bar to recognize an individual (judge, defense attorney, prosecutor, clerk, or other citizen) who has made a singular and unique contribution to the improvement of the criminal justice system in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

The award is made in memory of the Honorable Harry L. Carrico, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, who exemplified the highest ideals and aspirations of professionalism in the administration of justice in Virginia. Chief Justice Carrico was the first recipient of the award, which was instituted at the 22nd Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 1992.

Although the award will only be made from time to time at the discretion of the Board of Governors of the Criminal Law Section, the Board will invite nominations annually. Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee consisting of former chairs of the section.

Prior Recipients

The Honorable Harry L. Carrico	1992	Rodney G. Leffler	2007
James C. Roberts, Esquire	1993	Prof. Ronald J. Bacigal	2008
Oliver W. Hill, Esquire	1995	Hon. Jere M.H. Willis Jr.	2010
Hon. Robert F. Horan	1996	Melinda Douglas	2012
Reno S. Harp III, Esquire	1997	Claire G. Cardwell	2013
Hon. Richard H. Poff	1998	Gerald T. Zerkin	2014
Hon. Dennis W. Dohnal	1999	Hon. Jerrauld C. Jones	2015
Hon. Paul F. Sheridan	2000	Hon. Michael N. Herring	2016
Hon. Donald H. Kent	2001	Philip J. Hirschkop	2017
Craig S. Cooley, Esquire	2002	Hon. Martin F. Clark Jr.	2018
Prof. Robert E. Shepherd	2003	Hon. M. Hannah Lauck	2019
Richard Brydges, Esquire	2004	Hon. Junius P. Fulton III	2020
Overton P. Pollard, Esquire	2005	Hon. Donald W. Lemons	2022
Hon. Paul B. Ebert	2006	Hon. Robert E. Payne	2023

Criteria

The award will recognize an individual who meets the following criteria:

- ◆ Demonstrates a deep commitment and dedication to the highest ideals of professionalism in the practice of law and the administration of justice in the Commonwealth of Virginia;
- ◆ Has made a singular and unique contribution to the improvement of the criminal justice system in Virginia, emphasizing professionalism as the basic tenet in the administration of justice;
- ◆ Represents dedication to excellence in the profession and "performs with competence and ability and conducts himself/herself with unquestionable integrity, with consummate fairness and courtesy, and with an abiding sense of responsibility." (Remarks of Chief Justice Carrico, December 1990, Course on Professionalism.)

Submission of Nomination

Please submit your nomination on the form below, describing specifically the manner in which your nominee meets the criteria established for the award. If you prefer, nominations may be made by letter.

Nominations should be addressed to **George A. Neskis**, Chair, Criminal Law Section, and mailed to the Virginia State Bar Office: 1111 East Main Street, Suite 700, Richmond, VA 23219-0026. Nominations must be received no later than December 1, 2023. Please be sure to include your name and the full name, address, and phone number of the nominee.

If you have questions about the nomination process, please contact Maureen D. Stengel, Director of Bar Services, Virginia State Bar, at (804) 775-0517 or mstengel@vsb.org.

HARRY L. CARRICO PROFESSIONALISM AWARD

NOMINATION FORM

Please complete this form and return it to the Virginia State Bar, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 700, Richmond, VA 23219-0026 or email stengel@vsb.org. Nominations must be received no later than December 1, 2023.

Name of Nominee:		
Profession:		
City	State	Zip
Name of person making nomination		Telephone
(Please print)		
Email	Signature	
(Please attach an additional sheet explaining h	ow the nominee meets the crite	eria for the Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Awa